• Home
  • People
  • Administration

Department of Theatre Administration

Associate Professor, Acting Chair Director of Graduate Studies
Murphy Hall, Room 302

Ph.D. University of Southern California, Los Angeles
African-American theater and performance, popular culture, acting, Hip-hop Studies, American Studies, Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Improvisation theory, Transnationalism and Solo Performance.

Dennis Christilles portrait
Associate Professor, Artistic Director of the University Theatre
Murphy Hall, Room 356-A

Ph.D., University of Kansas
Scenography and Greek Theatre

Assistant Professor, Acting Director of Graduate Studies
Murphy Hall, Room 206

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin. Theatre History and Criticism.
M.A., University of Texas at Austin. Theatre History and Criticism.
B.S., Highest Distinction, Northwestern University. Theatre and Women’s Studies.

Associate Professor, Undergraduate Advising Coordinator
Murphy Hall, Room 221

Ph.D., University of Kansas
Cognitive Psychology, Reception Studies, K-12 Theatre

Professor, Head of Scenography Program
Murphy Hall, Room 233

M.F.A., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Scenography, Technology, Computers

Managing Director and Budget Officer
Murphy Hall, Room #315

Technical Director & Director of Operations
Murphy Hall, Room #339

Click for University Theatre production website

Upcoming Events
Connect with the Department of Theatre


KU Today
The first studio art class at KU began in 1869
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times