• Home
  • Laura Louise Pryor Award

Laura Louise Pryor Award

The Pryor Family created the Laura Louise Pryor Memorial Award to honor their Mother, Laura Louise. Laura Louise was a long-time theatre patron of the University Theatre and a member of its Friends of the Theatre (FROTH) organization. Laura Louise attended most theatre productions from 1978 – 2009 with her daughter, staff member Katherine Pryor. She died at the age of 91.

The Laura Louise Pryor Memorial Award provides an award for a student graduating with a Bachelor’s degree in Theatre or Theatre/ Voice who has made significant contributions to the University Theatre production program. Candidates must show evidence of being generous and have a strong work ethic. Preference will be given to a student who has a love for music and who has demonstrated a love for animals.

Eligible students must apply by March 1 for award consideration. The award is presented by vote of the faculty of the Department of Theatre.

Past Recipients 
Year     Recipients
2017 Jordan Michael Grant
2016 Pamela Rodríguez-Montero
2015 Megan Lethbridge
2014 Hailey Lapin
2013 Margaret Hanzlick
2012 Laura Brooke Williams

Award Criteria (PDF)

Click for University Theatre production website

Upcoming Events
Connect with the Department of Theatre


KU Today
The first studio art class at KU began in 1869
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times