• Home
  • John David Lentz Memorial Scholarship

John David Lentz Memorial Scholarship

Stan and Julie Lentz, formerly of Overland Park, KS, created the John David Lentz Memorial Scholarship in 1995 to honor their son. John graduated from the Department of Theatre with a degree in theatre and voice and continued his training as a graduate student at the Old Globe Theatre in San Diego, CA.  He died in San Diego in 1994.

The John David Lentz Memorial Scholarship provides an award for an undergraduate student majoring in theatre on the basis of need and merit.

Contributions to the John David Lentz Memorial Scholarship fund may be made via KUEA.

Past Recipients 
Year Recipients
2017 Jake Dutton
2016 Gabriel Alaniz
2015 Logan Duck
2014 Brody Horn
2013 Sara Kennedy
2012 Taylor Geiman
2011 Jake Smith
2010 Brittany Barney
2009 J.T. Nagle
2008 Brian Ervin
2007 Amy Virginia Buchanan
2006 Lavinia Roberts
2005 Patrick Crough
2004 Dale Buchheister
2003 Matt Simo
2002 Amber McIntosh
2001 Clancy O'Connor
2000 Yuji Tsuboi, Ryan Colwell
1999 Ginger Bartkoski
1998 Gina Grad
1997 Matthew Hostetle
1996 Joshua N. Brown

Click for University Theatre production website

Upcoming Events
Connect with the Department of Theatre


KU Today
The first studio art class at KU began in 1869
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times