• Home
  • Glenn Bickle Award

Glenn Bickle Award

Glenn Bickle served the University Theatre as its Stage Manager from 1958 - 1987 and became an invaluable mainstay of the KU Theatre for Young People’s touring company for 20 of his 30 years. He came to KU to study electrical engineering but, soon after his graduation, his love of theatre led him to stage manage productions in old Fraser Hall and then Murphy Hall when it opened in 1957. When first hired in 1958, he became the first civil service scenery construction supervisor and stage manager for the State of Kansas as a salaried employee.

In addition to his regular University Theatre duties, Bickle also served the Concert and Chamber Music Series for the Music Department in both Murphy Hall and old Hoch Auditorium, while sharing his technical expertise through workshops for community theatres and regional conferences. In 1976, he served as a professional lighting technician with ABC-TV during its broadcast of the Republican National Convention in Kansas City, and he also traveled extensively to work with the Winter Olympics in 1980 and the Summer Olympics in 1984.

Throughout his career, Bickle mentored countless KU students in technical theatre, and as a member of the Kansas City Local I.A.T.S.E. Union, afforded them the opportunity to work their first union jobs. Upon his retirement, he continued working his backstage and front-of-house magic at the Lawrence Community Theatre. 

The Glenn Bickle Award was created in 1988 to honor a technical theatre student who has made a significant contribution to University Theatre. It is presented by nomination and vote of the faculty of the Department of Theatre.

Past Recipients 
Year     Recipients
2017 Kate Smeltzer
2016 Jake Dutton
2015 Connor Lumpkin
2014 Megan Lethbridge
2013 Julia Ubert
2012 Hilary Surface
2011 Sara Aurin Finney
2010 Kristina Banton
2009 Beth Zupek
2008 Ann Sitzman
2007 Ann Sitzman
2006 Nicholas Kostner
2005 Nicholas Mosher
2004 Joel Luber
2003 Mike Hill
2002 Mike Hill
2001 Jennifer Woods
2000 Penny Laden
1999 Tony Fuemmeler
1998 Heather Coiner
1997 Tony Fuemmeler
1996 Daisey Hethcoat
1995 Thomas Harmon
1994 Sandy Saltzstein
1993 Michael Head
1992 Michael J. Reese
1991 Kirsten Vaughn Fitzgerald
1990 Trisha Farnsworth
1989 Karla Penechar
1988 Lora Hull

Click for University Theatre production website

Upcoming Events
Connect with the Department of Theatre


KU Today
The first studio art class at KU began in 1869
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times